Football

Barcelona.

The three decisions that should have prevented Barca's magical comeback

Published Add your comment

Football News
24/7

Barcelona completed the most unlikely, but incredible comeback in Champions League history last night after they smashed PSG 6-1 to overcome a 4-0 deficit in the last 16.

The La Liga leaders looked dead and buried once Edinson Cavani hammered in an away goal for the French heavyweights at the Nou Camp, but they found three goals in the final nine minutes - including the last kick of the game - to turn things around.

The Parisians will be wondering how they chucked it all away, but there was a few key moments in the game that really swung things Barcelona's way.

Article continues below

Still, is there an excuse to squander a 4-0 lead and an away goal?

Probably not, but then again, Barcelona might be the only team in the world that is capable of pulling off the tremendous feat they did last night.

Article continues below

However, there was three points of contention that could have seen one of the greatest nights in Champions League history become a mere footnote.

Barcelona's first penalty

The fact that Luis Enrique's men were awarded two penalties on the night is curious enough, but the way in which the first one was awarded is suspicious, to say the least.

Brazilian superstar Neymar appeared beyond PSG right-back Thomas Meunier before the defender stumbled, causing Neymar to trip over his head.

As you would expect, Neymar made the most of it, but it was a far from a stone-wall penalty.

Javier Mascherano should have walked

Just when Angel di Maria was through on goal and about to slot home from around 12 yards, his Argentine compatriot Javier Mascherano emerged to bring him down, seemingly from behind.

If the ref makes the correct call, it's a penalty to PSG and Mascherano walks as a result of being the last man.

p1bap2a84nrd6qdgh0iqa6u529.jpg

Not only did the ref not give it, but the former Liverpool man admitted after the game that he had fouled di Maria. Staggering.

Luis Suarez's dive

Luis Suarez? Diving? Come on now!

We know, but there is a first for everything. The former Liverpool hitman flung himself to the ground in an extremely animated way to win Barca a penalty in the dying minutes and hand them their fifth goal of six.

Did the referee fold under the pressure at the Nou Camp? It's hard to say he didn't. Especially when you consider he had already been booked for diving earlier on in the night.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE: http://gms.to/writeforgms

Topics:
Football

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author

DISCLAIMER

This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of GiveMeSport.com or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. GiveMeSport.com and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again