Shrimps release five

Next Story →

Morecambe manager Sammy McIlroy has began his preparations for next season by releasing five players.

McIlroy will not be offering new contracts to Adam Yates, Matty Blinkhorn, Michael Howard, Diarmuid O'Carroll and Matty Bell while on-loan Peterborough striker Rene Howe will not return to Christie Park.

"It's always difficult when you let players go and I would like to thank all the lads for their contribution," said McIlroy.

"They have all played their part in our success in some way and these decisions are never taken lightly.

"We always have to look at the future though. We know where we need to strengthen next year and we will be working hard over the summer."

Copyright (c) PA Sport 2009, All Rights Reserved.

Peterborough United
Adam Yates
Rene Howe
Rene Howe
League Two
Adam Yates
Sammy McIlroy
Diarmuid O'Carroll
Michael Howard
Next Story →

Article Comments


Read more

Scroll for more articles below.