Murphy offered new Iron deal

Next Story

Nigel Adkins has wasted no time shaping his Scunthorpe squad for next season`s assault on the Championship.

The Iron triumphed 3-2 over Millwall in Sunday`s dramatic League One play-off final but that still leaves the Lincolnshire outfit over a month behind Leicester and Peterborough in their preparations for next season.

Highly-rated goalkeeper Joe Murphy has been offered a new deal to remain with the Championship newcomers, while the club have already sorted out the futures of their other two out-of-contract shot stoppers.

An option has been taken up on Josh Lillis` contract meaning he will stay at Glanford Park for next season, youngster Sam Slocombe has also penned a one-year deal with a further one-year option

Midfielders Peter Winn, Ian Morris and Kevan Hurst have all been offered new deals while defenders Joe Wilcox and Michael Lea have both been released.

Elsewhere, Scunthorpe have also revealed they will receive a further £200,000 bonus following former striker Martin Paterson`s promotion to the Premier League with Burnley. The Iron already received £100,000 when the Clarets finished in the play-off places, adding to the initial £1million transfer fee paid last summer.

Copyright (c) PA Sport 2009, All Rights Reserved.

Peterborough United
Leicester City
Sam Slocombe
Peter Winn
Michael Lea
Ian Morris
Scunthorpe United
League One
Premier League
Joe Murphy
Josh Lillis
Joe Wilcox
Kevan Hurst
Martin Paterson
Next Story

Read more