Newcastle continue to lead the way in the Coca-Cola Championship on the back of their 3-1 win at home to struggling Peterborough.

Jonas Gutierrez fired the Magpies in front after 15 minutes, with Andy Carroll adding a second three minutes later.

A 52nd-minute curler from Danny Simpson effectively ended the match as a contest, although Dean Keates got the visitors on the scoresheet 11 minutes from time.

West Brom remain two points off the summit after their 2-1 victory at Leicester.

Two goals in three minutes from Graham Dorrans and Gonzalo Jara gave Albion a half-time lead, with Bruno Berner replying for the Foxes in the last minute.

Darren Pratley grabbed a brace to help Swansea edge bitter rivals Cardiff 3-2.

Kaspars Gorkss struck eight minutes from time to earn QPR a 2-1 victory at Sheffield Wednesday, while Blackpool notched a 4-1 success over 10-man Scunthorpe with all the goals coming in the second half.

Ipswich were unable to add to last weekend's success over Derby with another three-point haul as they played out a 1-1 draw at Reading.

Plymouth moved out of the drop zone with a 2-1 win over Doncaster, courtesy of goals from Alan Judge and Rory Fallon.

A last-minute strike from Danny Haynes snatched a 1-1 draw for Bristol City at Nottingham Forest, who had gone ahead five minutes earlier through Wes Morgan. A Darren Ambrose goal was enough to see Crystal Palace past Middlesbrough, while Heidar Helguson and Tom Cleverley were on the scoresheet in Watford's 2-0 win over Preston.

Copyright (c) PA Sport 2009, All Rights Reserved.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE: