Football

Griezmann.

What Antoine Griezmann told referee to earn second yellow card v Girona

Published Add your comment

Football News
24/7

Diego Simeone will be pleased with the resilience his Atletico Madrid side showed as they came from 2-0 down to draw against Girona on Saturday.

Drawing against a newly-promoted side isn’t an ideal way for any team with ambitions of winning the title to start the season but given the circumstances, Simeone won’t complain.

Atletico were two goals down when Antoine Griezmann was shown a red card, the Frenchman receiving two yellow cards in a matter of seconds after the break.

Article continues below

Griezmann received a booking when he was deemed to have dived inside the penalty. The 26-year-old rose to his feet to protest the referee’s decision but was met with another yellow card.

The forward avoided the wrath of his teammates after Angel Correa and Jose Gimenez salvaged a point for Los Rojiblancos with two late goals.

But he faces some time on the sidelines with a suspension looming.

FBL-ESP-LIGA-GIRONA-ATLETICO

Simeone didn’t want to draw on any negatives at full-time.

"I will stick to the positive side," the Argentinian said, per ESPN. "We had a bad first half, but a very good first half. At 2-0 down many people would have thought the game over, then even more with 10 players.

"The team have kept alive what we have had through these years with them. That fire, that spirit of never giving up, keeping going right until the end - we got a result in the end which in the first half looked impossible."

What Griezmann said to the referee

Fans immediately wondered what Griezmann said to the referee, Juan Martinez Munuera, that was worth being shown a second yellow card.

Now we have an answer. The match report has since come out and it shows Griezmann said to Munuera: “Eres un cagón,” which translates as, “You’re a f***ing bottler,” according to AS.

Watch: Griezmann's red card vs Girona

Griezmann’s red card is entirely justifiable, then.

Simeone was asked in his post-match press conference what he said to his star player after the match, to which he replied, “I have not spoken with him,” but one imagines that Griezmann could be in for a telling off once Atleti’s manager recovers from what was an enthralling encounter.

Did Antoine Griezmann deserve to be sent off? Let us know in the comments section below!

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE: http://gms.to/writeforgms

Topics:
Sergio Aguero
Fernando Torres
Football
Paul Pogba
Diego Costa
La Liga

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author

DISCLAIMER

This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of GiveMeSport.com or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. GiveMeSport.com and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again