Chesterfield Vs Torquay United, Sat 16 Jan 2010

Next Story

Chesterfield manager John Sheridan will be without Kieran Djilali and Drew Talbot for the visit of Torquay - should the game get the go ahead.

The Spireites carried out a preliminary pitch inspection on Friday morning but have called another one for Saturday morning as the Saltergate surface moves from being frozen to being waterlogged under heavy rain.

Djilali has returned to Crystal Palace after a loan spell while Talbot is out with an ankle injury.

Jack Lester will be hoping to return to the Spireites attack after recovering from an ankle knock but he will have to compete with Scott Boden and Wade Small for one of the two starting spots.

Aaron Downes has returned to full fitness after picking up a serious knee injury in April.

On-loan trio Mark Little, David Perkins and Davide Somma have all returned to their parent clubs but Danny Hall and Paul Harsley are back from their respective loan spells. Jordan Bowery (ankle) is unavailable.

Torquay are set to welcome back new signing Chris Zebroski in attack following his recent transfer from Wycombe for an undisclosed fee.

The 23-year-old striker was cup tied for Torquay's last game, a 1-0 FA Cup third round home defeat by Brighton on January 2.

Manager Paul Buckle can also call upon midfielder Nicky Wroe and central defender Chris Robertson, who are both in contention after sitting out the cup clash through suspension.

Buckle has boosted his squad by signing Northern Ireland Under-21 midfielder Eunan O'Kane. Former Everton youngster O'Kane, 19, has joined United on a short-term deal after spending the first half of the season with Irish club Coleraine.

Steve Adams and Ben Joyce will both be unavailable for Torquay as they have completed their loan deals to Truro City and Weston-Super-Mare respectively.

Copyright (c) PA Sport 2009, All Rights Reserved.

Chris Robertson
Jordan Bowery
Mark Little
Nicky Wroe
Chris Zebroski
Scott Boden
Aaron Downes
Davide Somma
Steve Adams
David Perkins
League Two
Paul Harsley
Crystal Palace
Jack Lester
FA Cup
Drew Talbot
Wade Small
Eunan O'Kane
Brighton & Hove Albion
Ben Joyce
Next Story

Read more