Football

Griezmann.

Mark Clattenburg was 'pleased' Antoine Griezmann missed penalty in Champions League final

Published Add your comment

Football News
24/7

While he’s not the most popular, there’s very little doubt that Mark Clattenburg is one of the best referees the Premier League has ever seen.

That much can be proved by the fact that he officiated both the 2016 European Championships final and the 2016 Champions League final.

However, earlier this year, he left England's top-flight to take up a role within the Saudi Arabian Football Federation.

Now that he’s not reffing a Premier League match every week, Clattenburg has a bit more time on his hands.

And he’s been using that time by performing a few speeches over dinner.

And during one of those speeches, Clattenburg made a rather incredible revelation about the Champions League final he reffed.

It was between Real Madrid and Atletico Madrid - a match that finished 1-1 before Real triumphed on penalties.

But it wasn’t a great night for the officials.

Real Madrid v Club Atletico de Madrid - UEFA Champions League Final

Zinedine Zidane’s side opened the scoring through Sergio Ramos - although the Spaniard appeared to be in an offside position.

Then, in the second-half, Atleti were awarded a dubious penalty. Antoine Griezmann subsequently smashed his effort off the crossbar and it seems Clattenburg was glad it was missed.

Clattenburg's 2016 CL final revelation

David Walsh of the Sunday Times has produced a report of Clattenburg’s speech and has revealed that the ref admitted he was secretly glad Griezmann missed from the spot.

"Over dinner, he admits that if Real hadn't benefitted from a bad decision in the first half he probably wouldn't have given it [the Atleti penalty]," Walsh wrote.

"The best referees, he believes, make their decisions based on context and balance. This explains why there can never be "consistency" in the way football is refereed. It is the courage to apply the laws with empathy, says Clattenburg, that distinguishes top officials from those on the next rung on the ladder. Pepe, though, didn't think it was a penalty.

Real Madrid v Club Atletico de Madrid - UEFA Champions League Final

"Neither was Ramos's goal a goal", Clattenburg told him.

"When Griezmann's penalty hit the bar I was pleased because it had been a marginal call. In terms of the big picture, the penalty restored balance and made for a better game. Afterwards Real and Atletico were very complimentary about my performance".

Real Madrid v Club Atletico de Madrid - UEFA Champions League Final

Very, very interesting.

While Clattenburg’s point makes sense, the thought of a referee wanting a side to miss a penalty during a match they’re officiating is rather shocking.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE: http://gms.to/writeforgms

Topics:
Fernando Torres
Zinedine Zidane
Football
Premier League
UEFA Champions League
Real Madrid
Cristiano Ronaldo
La Liga

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author

DISCLAIMER

This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of GiveMeSport.com or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. GiveMeSport.com and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again