Southend United Vs Swindon Town, Sat 30 Jan 2010

Next Story

Southend could be without Jean-Francois Christophe, Anthony Grant and Francis Laurent for the clash with in-form Swindon.

All picked up knocks during the damaging 2-0 defeat against Millwall on Tuesday night and have missed training and remain doubtful to face the Robins at Roots Hall.

Laurent is needed in attack after the sale of top-scorer Lee Barnard, as he is the current leading scorer with three league goals.

Manager Steve Tilson will also be without key midfielder Alan McCormack.

The former Preston man begins a two-match suspension after he collected his 10th booking of the season against Millwall.

On-loan Sunderland defender Jean-Yves M'Voto is still continuing his rehabilitation from hip surgery and remains a doubt.

Tilson is looking for a first win in four to stop the Shrimpers from sliding down the League One table.

Swindon boss Danny Wilson has the same squad at his disposal as the one that tore apart Leeds 3-0 on Tuesday.

The Robins looked a class above the League One high-flyers and fully deserved their victory, a result which consolidated their place in the play-off spots.

Left-back Alan Sheehan continues to miss out due to a hamstring problem, with Lescinel Jean-Francois likely to keep his place in what is expected to be an unchanged starting XI.

Vincent Pericard will again play second fiddle to the red-hot strike partnership of Charlie Austin and Billy Paynter.

The game comes too soon for Alan O'Brien as he completes his recovery from a hamstring problem, while Kurt Hammonds (knee) and Callum Kennedy (pelvis) also miss out.

Defender Hasney Aljofree has joined Oldham on trial and will therefore not be available.

Copyright (c) PA Sport 2009, All Rights Reserved.

Alan Sheehan
Bristol City
Charlie Austin
Vincent Pericard
League One
Swindon Town
Southend United
Preston North End
Anthony Grant
Alan McCormack
Kurt Hammonds
Oldham Athletic
Jean-Francois Christophe
Alan Sheehan
Callum Kennedy
Francis Laurent
Billy Paynter
Leeds United
Lee Barnard
Hasney Aljofree
Alan O'Brien
Next Story

Read more