Darlington Vs Rotherham United, Sat 6 Feb 2010

Next Story

Darlington's latest signing Richie Byrne is expected to be included in the squad for the home game with Rotherham.

The Irish defender, Steve Staunton's seventh signing since the turn of the year, is likely to start on the bench.

Staunton has no new injury or suspension problems as his side chase only their fourth league win of the season, but defender Mark Bower (ankle), midfielder Chris Lumsdon (knee) and striker Noel Whelan (hamstring) remain sidelined.

Whelan, who has made only two appearances for the Quakers due to injury, is making quicker than expected progress after breaking down in the home defeat to Northampton and could be available next week.

Recent signing Tadgh Purcell, who has scored two goals in three matches for Darlington, should retain his place, with Staunton to decide who to play up front alongside Frenchman Mor Diop.

Dale Tonge is set for a recall as Rotherham boss Ronnie Moore prepares to wield the axe.

Tonge, who has recently overcome a foot injury, is set to earn a start at right-back instead of Marc Joseph and that could be just one of a number of changes.

The Millers put in a horror show during Tuesday's 3-1 home defeat by promotion rivals Bournemouth and Moore has hinted at changes after describing the performance as "spineless" and "unacceptable".

Nick Fenton could also earn a recall in the centre of defence after a recent spell on the bench following a four-game ban. Fenton's return could see Pablo Mills drop out of the side completely, although the latter may return to his usual midfield role.

Marcus Marshall, Drewe Broughton, Danny Harrison, Stephen Brogan and Ryan Taylor are among a host of other players who will hope to benefit from a reshuffle.

Reserve goalkeeper Jamie Annerson has a knock so on-loan Burnley youngster Jonathan Lund will retain his place among the substitutes, while Andy Liddell and Paul Warne remain long-term absentees.

Copyright (c) PA Sport 2009, All Rights Reserved.

Rotherham United
Paul Warne
Richie Byrne
Pablo Mills
Jamie Annerson
Ryan Taylor
Danny Harrison
Dale Tonge
Marc Joseph
Chris Lumsdon
Marcus Marshall
League Two
Mark Bower
Nick Fenton
Ryan Taylor
Andy Liddell
Drewe Broughton
Stephen Brogan
Next Story

Read more