Rugby Union

.

Kieran Read amazingly avoids sin bin during Scotland match

Published Add your comment

Football News
24/7

In the rough and tumble world of international Rugby Union, bad sportsmanship is always an unwelcome feature and sadly yet again, fans could well be forgiven for being more that disappointed in one of the most experienced players currently plying his trade at the highest level. 

With the Autumn tests very much underway, the teams involved have been eager to stamp their authority on the international stage and determined not to surrender any quarter to their opponents in a series of enthralling contests.

Unfortunately for experienced All Blacks captain Kieran Read, he might just look back at the last game against Scotland with a mixture of disappointment and relief.

A strange combination indeed.

The reason behind the somewhat mixed reflection is a simple one. Read got away with an awful piece of sportsmanship.

In the end, New Zealand defeated Scotland at Murrayfield, 22-17 in a bitty, hard-fought but close game. The Scots made it more than difficult for the All Blacks who were unusually muted and on the day, in less than top form.

The game was a close affair with both teams going into the second half with just three points each. The All Blacks staged a fightback with both Codie Taylor and Damian Mackenzie contributing a try each to put some daylight between the two nations.

Scotland were resolute and replied stoutly, with Jonny Gray scored a try to end a spell of sustained pressure applied by the Scots on the All Blacks' defence.

RUGBYU-SCO-NZL

The All Blacks, determined to keep their lead, lost some of their discipline and incurred a number of penalties, culminating in Same Cane being sent to the sin bin.

Scotland seized the opportunity to attack and turned up the pressure responding well despite conceding another try dispatched by Beuden Barrett.

Gray, with the ball in hand, was close to scoring another try but inexplicably, Kieran Read took the opportunity to deliberately slap the ball out of his hands and forwards.

If that wasn't shocking enough, the referee was within metres of the incident but somehow failed to spot the infringement.

Of course, we will never know if a second try from Gray would have inspired a late comeback, nevertheless, it is undoubtedly disappointing to see the captain of the world's best team resort to such measures.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE: http://gms.to/writeforgms

Topics:
Scotland Rugby
New Zeland Rugby
Rugby Union

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author

DISCLAIMER

This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of GiveMeSport.com or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. GiveMeSport.com and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport - Rugby Union Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again