Win takes Newcastle clear

Next Story

Newcastle moved six points clear at the top of the Coca-Cola Championship table with a 2-1 win at Watford.

Argentina defender Fabricio Coloccini headed home the second goal of his Newcastle career in the fourth minute before Andy Carroll made it 2-0 in the 50th minute.

Will Hoskins netted what proved to be a consolation for the home side in the final minute.

West Brom moved second above Nottingham Forest with a 3-1 win at home to Derby thanks to a Chris Brunt double and a goal from Simon Cox.

Chris Porter had given the visitors the lead four minutes into the second half before Brunt (67 and 77) swung the game in West Brom's favour and Cox (82) netted the clincher.

Leicester strengthened their grip on fifth with a 3-0 home win over Nottingham Forest which saw the visitors drop to third in the table.

All the goals game in the second half after Bruno Berner (68) opened the scoring. Paul Gallagher (79) and Andy King (81) secured an important win.

Meanwhile, Ten-man Preston dented Cardiff's promotion hopes as Jon Parkin scored twice in a 3-0 victory, Reading's improved form continued as they thumped Sheffield Wednesday 5-0 and Jamie Ward scored twice as Sheffield United edged a seven-goal thriller against Plymouth at Bramall Lane.

Coventry hung on to beat Scunthorpe 2-1 despite having a player sent off with half an hour left, while Neil Warnock saw Crystal Palace draw 1-1 at Doncaster in what was expected to be his last game in charge.

Elsewhere, Middlesbrough beat QPR 2-0, Swansea beat Peterborough 1-0, Iain Hume earned Barnsley all three points with the only goal at home to Blackpool and Ipswich were held goalless at Portman Road by Bristol City.

Copyright (c) PA Sport 2009, All Rights Reserved.

Peterborough United
Leicester City
Doncaster Rovers
Jamie Ward
Ipswich Town
West Bromwich Albion
Sheffield Wednesday
Jon Parkin
Bristol City
Chris Brunt
Scunthorpe United
Cardiff City
Fabricio Coloccini
Andy King
Preston North End
Paul Gallagher
Will Hoskins
Derby County
Chris Porter
Bruno Berner
Nottingham Forest
Queens Park Rangers
Sheffield United
Crystal Palace
Iain Hume
Simon Cox
Coventry City
Plymouth Argyle
Swansea City
Next Story

Read more