Coventry City Vs Sheffield Wednesday, Sat 27 Mar 2010

Next Story

Chris Coleman has no new injury or suspension concerns ahead of the visit of Sheffield Wednesday but may opt to freshen things up having seen his Coventry side play four games in 12 days.

After an eye-catching run of form, defeats to West Brom and Cardiff and draws against Plymouth and Leicester have left the Sky Blues facing a tough ask if they are to secure a top-six finish.

Nevertheless that was always looking to be a tall order this season and considering the club were starting to look over their shoulders towards the wrong end of the table back in January, there remains plenty of play for and a top 10 spot would represent an impressive achievement.

Winger Michael McIndoe remains in the treatment room with a back/hip muscle tear, while midfielder Aron Gunnarsson overcame a slight ankle knock to make the bench at The Hawthorns on Wednesday and is competing to be involved.

Coleman may also opt to revert back to a 4-4-2 formation having switched to 4-5-1 against Albion, with Clinton Morrison dropping to the bench.

Sheffield Wednesday manager Alan Irvine is expected to name an unchanged side.

Irvine has no new injury or suspension problems as his side look to clinch back-to-back victories for the first time since January.

Luke Varney, on loan from Derby, was the only change Irvine made for the midweek win over relegation rivals Watford and the striker justified his return with an 89th-minute winner.

Varney is likely to continue up front alongside Marcus Tudgay, while skipper Darren Purse is expected to start alongside Mark Beevers after recovering from a hamstring strain sustained in the recent draw with Derby in time to start in midweek.

Jermaine Johnson is still struggling with a hamstring injury, but Michael Gray, Frank Simek, Etienne Esajas and Richard Hinds are all pushing for returns to the starting line-up.

Copyright (c) PA Sport 2009, All Rights Reserved.

Leicester City
West Bromwich Albion
Mark Beevers
Sheffield Wednesday
Etienne Esajas
Richard Hinds
Jermaine Johnson
Michael McIndoe
Cardiff City
Derby County
Darren Purse
Clinton Morrison
Luke Varney
Coventry City
Aron Gunnarsson
Plymouth Argyle
Michael Gray
Frank Simek
Marcus Tudgay
Next Story

Read more