Bristol Rovers Vs Brentford, Sat 17 Apr 2010

Published Add your comment

Bristol Rovers will be without defender Steve Elliott for their clash with Brentford.

The 31-year-old suffered medial ligament damage during Tuesday`s 5-1 defeat against Southampton and is expected to be sidelined for a couple of weeks, although it could rule him out for the rest of the season.

Elliott`s absence means Carl Regan should deputise after replacing the former Derby man against the Saints.

Andy Williams could also be absent after missing training through illness, while Byron Anthony is rated 50-50 due to a sore hip flexor.

And Trollope is desperate for the Pirates to get back to winning ways after losing three of their last four.

"We have been at an average position of eighth or ninth all season," he told the club`s official website. "We are proud of the fact we have been in the top ten throughout the campaign and we don`t want to slip any lower than that."

Brentford have a huge casualty list.

Boss Andy Scott lost goalkeeper Wojciech Szczesny, defenders Pim Balkestein and Karleigh Osborne and midfielder Marcus Bean to injuries during Tuesday night's 2-2 draw with Southend.

Polish teenager Szczesny has returned to parent club Arsenal for treatment on an ankle injury and Ipswich loanee Balkestein is back at Portman Road after suffering a recurrence of his groin problem.

Nikki Bull took over in goal for his first appearance since undergoing shoulder surgery in October and is on standby.

Osborne is a doubt after going off with a dead leg and Bean will struggle to recover from a hamstring injury in time.

Skipper Kevin O'Connor (foot) and defenders Mark Phillips (knee) and Ryan Dickson (hamstring) remain on the sidelines.

Copyright (c) PA Sport 2009, All Rights Reserved.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Pim Balkestein
Ipswich Town
Bristol Rovers
Mark Phillips
Carl Regan
Marcus Bean
League One
Southend United
Derby County
Ryan Dickson
Kevin O'Connor
Steve Elliott
Wojciech Szczesny
Karleigh Osborne
Pim Balkestein
Kevin O'Connor
Byron Anthony
Nikki Bull

Read more

back to top