Sheffield Wednesday's hopes of staying in the Championship are hanging by a thread after their 3-2 defeat by Cardiff.

Crystal Palace can send Wednesday into League One if they defeat already promoted West Brom on Monday night.

Jermaine Johnson gave Wednesday early hope but Peter Whittingham's long-range free-kick put Cardiff level within two minutes. Jay Bothroyd put City back in front only for Marcus Tudgay to restore parity - but Bothroyd struck for a second time to earn Cardiff a play-off place.

Blackpool beat already relegated Peterborough 1-0 at London Road thanks to a an 11th-minute strike by DJ Campbell.

The win pushed the Seasiders into a play-off place ahead of Swansea, who lost 2-0 at Sheffield United. Richard Cresswell took his tally for the season to 14 with a well-taken brace that saw Swansea slip out of the play-off places for the first time since December.

Watford ensured their Championship survival with a 3-0 home win over Reading thanks to a goal in each half from Danny Graham and another from Heidar Helguson.

Leicester's 1-0 win at Preston made sure of their place in the play-offs. A second-half winner from Andy King meant City finished fifth.

An injury-time goal from Jonathan Walters earned Ipswich a point in a 2-2 draw with champions Newcastle at St James' Park. Andy Carroll had put United ahead but Connor Wickham equalised before half-time. Shola Ameobi looked to have given Newcastle all three points with an 84th-minute penalty but Walters had the last word.

Nottingham Forest, already assured of a place in the play-offs, ran out easy 3-0 winners over already relegated Plymouth while Mikele Leigertwood gave Queens Park Rangers a fine 1-0 win at Barnsley.

Steve Coppell made a winning start as Bristol City manager in a 2-1 success over Derby at Ashton Gate, Middlesbrough were held 1-1 at home by Coventry and Doncaster beat Scunthorpe 4-3.

Copyright (c) PA Sport 2009, All Rights Reserved.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE: