Wednesday suffer relegation heartache

Next Story

Sheffield Wednesday were relegated from the Coca-Cola Championship after a dramatic match at Hillsborough against Crystal Palace.

Only victory over the visitors would ensure survival, but they could only manage a 2-2 draw. Alan Lee put Palace ahead in the first half, only for Leon Clarke to level matters just before the break. Palace went ahead again thanks to a second half Darren Ambrose goal, but the Owls fought back with a Darren Purse shot with just three minutes of normal time remaining.

Five minutes of injury time ensured a nervous end to the game but Palace, who had 10 points deducted this season for going into administration, managed to hang on.

At the other end of the table Blackpool celebrated securing a play-off place with a 1-1 draw at home to Bristol City.

Nicky Maynard gave City a surprise first-half lead with a wonderful opportunist strike, but Brett Ormerod levelled nine minutes after the break to earn the hosts a share of the spoils.

That draw meant a victory for Swansea over Doncaster at the Liberty Stadium would mean the south Wales side made the play-offs at the Seasiders' expense.

But they could only manage a goalless draw and to make matters worse had a Lee Trundle strike disallowed in the dying seconds.

Champions Newcastle finished their season on a high with a 1-0 victory at QPR. Peter Lovenkrands' 71st-minute strike ensured they signed off their brief stint outside the top flight with a win. 

West Brom - already guaranteed second place and like Newcastle a quick return to the Barclays Premier League - scored a late equaliser to deny Barnsley the three points. Hugo Colace put the visitors in front with an hour on the clock, but West Brom's player of the season Graham Dorrans popped up with a stoppage-time equaliser.

Meanwhile, Nottingham Forest ended the season third in the table with a 2-2 draw at Scunthorpe, while Leicester beat Middlesbrough 2-0. Cardiff went down 2-0 at Derby. Forest will take on Blackpool in the play-offs, while Leicester will meet Cardiff.

Copyright (c) PA Sport 2009, All Rights Reserved.

Leicester City
Doncaster Rovers
Leon Clarke
West Bromwich Albion
Sheffield Wednesday
Bristol City
Alan Lee
Scunthorpe United
Graham Dorrans
Darren Ambrose
Hugo Colace
Premier League
Cardiff City
Derby County
Nottingham Forest
Nicky Maynard
Darren Purse
Queens Park Rangers
Peter Lovenkrands
Brett Ormerod
Crystal Palace
Lee Trundle
Swansea City
Next Story

Read more