Anthony McGill landed a quite remarkable shot on route to a 4-1 victory.

Anthony McGill lands amazing trick shot at World Grand Prix

Published Add your comment

Football News

After more than four decades in the game, it takes a shot of some magnitude to render seven-time world champion Stephen Hendry at a loss for words, but that is exactly what Scotland's Anthony McGill managed on Thursday during his second round victory over Stuart Bingham at the World Grand Prix in Preston.

McGill was playing for the pink to the bottom left pocket during the first frame of the match, but was only able to hit the cushion to the right of the pocket.

Sensationally, though, the ball rebounded off the cushion at just the right angle for McGill - and ended up nestling perfectly in the bottom right pocket.

The incredible shot can be seen further down this article. 

The shot clearly wowed TV commentator Hendry, who took time to admire it, before declaring that he had "never seen" the likes of the amazing trick shot.

Whilst McGill, 27, landed the unlikely pink on route to securing frame of the match, Bingham battled back well to level the score at 1-1 in the second frame. However, the Scotsman then reeled off three straight frames to record a 4-1 victory. 

Former world champion Bingham, 41, was only playing his second match back following an October 2017 ban for breaching betting rules. Bingham was banned for six months (half of which was suspended) after being charged with having bets on matches, including some involving himself.

Bingham has always denied that he placed wagers on matches in which he was involved, but did apologise for his conduct.

He will have been pleased to have been back in action this week when he defeated Mark Williams in the first round at Preston Guildhall. The Southend-based player will now turn his attention to retaining his Welsh Open championship when that tournament begins next week.

As for McGill, he now advances to face China’s Ding Junhui in the quarter-finals on Friday.

Regardless of his success in the remainder of the tournament, it is unlikely that the 2016 Indian Open winner will land another shot such as the pink that helped propel him to victory against Bingham.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Stephen Hendry
World Snooker Championship

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport - Snooker Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again