Obinna claims Hammers winner

Next Story

Victor Obinna upstaged Sunderland's record signing Asamoah Gyan to fire West Ham into the Carling Cup fourth round following their 2-1 result.

The 23-year-old Nigerian blasted home a 59th-minute winner to dump the Black Cats out of the competition after their £13million-plus striker had dragged them back into the game.

Gyan cancelled out Frederic Piquionne's 35th-minute opener with 41 minutes gone, but Steve Bruce's men could not take advantage of their reprieve.

Headers from Danny Higginbotham and Kenwyne Jones secured Stoke a 2-0 victory over Fulham at the Britannia Stadium and a place in the fourth round.

Higginbotham gave the Potters the lead in the 23rd minute, arriving at the far post to convert Matthew Etherington's corner. Jones wrapped up the win with his third goal in three games, rising to meet Rory Delap's throw-in with eleven minutes remaining.

Owen Coyle endured a miserable return to Burnley as Wade Elliott's first-half goal sent his Bolton charges crashing out to a 1-0 defeat.

Birmingham breezed into the fourth round as three quickfire goals in a 3-1 victory from Alexander Hleb, Nikola Zigic and Craig Gardner all but saw off the threat of MK Dons before half-time.

Dons, fourth in npower League One, deservedly bagged a late consolation through substitute Aaron Wilbraham - but were completely unravelled by the devastating four-minute spell in what was the first meeting between the two sides since the club's 2004 relaunch.

Tamas Priskin and Gareth McAuley fired Ipswich through as Millwall's home jitters struck again as they suffered a 2-1 defeat.

Championship side Swansea earned a place in the fourth round after a hat-trick from former Chelsea winger Scott Sinclair accounted for League One pacesetters Peterborough following a 3-1 result at London Road.

Copyright (c) PA Sport 2009, All Rights Reserved.

Alexander Hleb
Frederic Piquionne
Aaron Wilbraham
Danny Higginbotham
Wade Elliott
League Cup
Kenwyne Jones
Premier League
Steve Bruce
Matthew Etherington
Rory Delap
Asamoah Gyan
Gareth McAuley
Scott Sinclair
West Ham United
Craig Gardner
Tamas Priskin
Victor Obinna
Next Story

Read more