Cardiff moved to the top of the npower Championship thanks to a 3-1 victory over Norwich.

Jay Bothroyd tapped home Mark Hudson's knock-down for his 12th of the season after nine minutes before he turned provider for Michael Chopra, who beat John Ruddy to double the hosts' advantage. Wes Hoolahan's header pulled one back for Norwich but they were condemned to defeat by Peter Whittingham's penalty after Elliott Ward handballed in the box.

QPR's fourth consecutive draw meant they slipped two points behind the leaders as they were held to a 1-1 stalemate against Burnley at Loftus Road.

Neil Warnock's men took the lead through Adel Taarabt, who dummied a Burnley defender to fire past Lee Grant from 20 yards but Gary Alexander equalised on the stroke of half-time after Matthew Connolly fouled Dean Marney in the box.

Reading produced an almighty comeback to beat Doncaster in a thrilling 4-3 victory at the Madejski Stadium. Doncaster had opened up a 3-1 advantage after James Hayter, Shelton Martis and Dean Shiels responded to Matt Mills' opener against his former club.

Rovers' hopes of pulling off their first victory against the Royals for 26 years were dashed thanks to a dramatic second-half fightback which was secured by goals from Jem Karacan, Ian Harte and Simon Church, who won the match with two minutes left.

Over 19,000 turned up at the Riverside but new manager Tony Mowbray's first match in charge of Middlesbrough ended in a 2-1 defeat to Bristol City.

Kris Boyd's fourth of the season gave Boro hope but Albert Adomah levelled before Marvin Elliott's sublime strike ensured that Keith Millen's side moved off the foot of the table.

Crystal Palace sank to the bottom of the pile after a 3-0 hammering at home to Swansea.

The Swans, who were unbeaten in their previous five matches, started confidently and took an early lead when Scott Sinclair tapped home Angel Rangel's cross to score against his old side. Darren Pratley and Joe Allen then rounded off the win which moves Brendan Rodgers' team to within three points of QPR.

Copyright (c) PA Sport 2009, All Rights Reserved.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE: