Foxes seventh after Sky Blues draw

Published Add your comment

Leicester are two points behind Leeds in seventh in the npower Championship after a 1-1 draw with Coventry at the Walkers Stadium.

The Sky Blues went ahead through Marlon King firing home before Kyle Naughton levelled just before half-time with a superb left-footed shot. Coventry's Martin Cranie was sent off in the final minute.

In games involving teams from the wrong end of the table, second-bottom Sheffield United are seemingly doomed after a 1-0 home defeat to Derby, Theo Robinson scoring.

Third-bottom Scunthorpe lost 2-0 at Bristol City, David Clarkson and Nicky Maynard scoring while Preston are still bottom after a 2-1 home loss to local rivals Burnley.

The Lilywhites went ahead, Barry Nicholson firing high into the goal in the 23rd minute.

The Clarets levelled through Jay Rodriguez who slotted the ball past the keeper before Jack Cork hit a late winner.

Crystal Palace - revived by Dougie Freedman - shared a 3-3 draw with Reading.

Darren Ambrose put Palace ahead after just 39 seconds from 25 yards before doubling their lead through Neil Danns. The Royals pulled one back when Shane Long converted a penalty.

Ambrose missed a spot-kick before Jimmy Kebe calmly brought the Royals level. Jermaine Easter restored the Londoners' lead - only for Noel Hunt to equalise.

Doncaster and Watford drew 1-1. Danny Eustace put the Hornets ahead before Euell levelled with John Eustace sent off for deliberate handball in the 80th minute, while David Nugent and David Cotterill scored as Portsmouth won 2-0 at Ipswich.

Copyright (c) PA Sport 2009, All Rights Reserved.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Leicester City
Doncaster Rovers
Ipswich Town
Jermaine Easter
Dougie Freedman
Maxi Rodriguez
Bristol City
Barry Nicholson
Jay Rodriguez
Scunthorpe United
Jimmy Kebe
Darren Ambrose
John Eustace
Preston North End
Neil Danns
Derby County
Marlon King
Nicky Maynard
Shane Long
Jack Cork
Sheffield United
Kyle Naughton
Crystal Palace
David Nugent
Theo Robinson
Leeds United
Coventry City
David Cotterill
Martin Cranie
David Nugent
Noel Hunt
David Clarkson

Read more

back to top