Millwall Vs Cardiff City, Sat 19 Mar 2011

Published Add your comment

Millwall will be boosted by the return of three players when they take on Cardiff.

Defender Darren Purse is available again after serving a one-match ban but may only make the bench, with replacement Darren Ward having helped the Lions keep two clean sheets in a row.

Striker Neil Harris is likely to feature in the squad after recovering from his hip injury, but Kevin Lisbie and Steve Morison are expected to keep their places up front.

And the influential Hameur Bouazza is also in line for a place on the bench after missing the last three games with a knee injury.

Kenny Jackett's side have kept their play-off hopes alive by recording impressive victories against QPR and Burnley.

The Lions lost 2-1 to Cardiff this season when the sides met back in September.

Cardiff will be without Michael Chopra after he was this week ruled out for the rest of the season.

The striker suffered a Grade Three hamstring tear in last weekend`s 2-2 draw against Barnsley, forcing him off after 25 minutes.

His absence leaves manager Dave Jones with a decision to make as to who partners Jay Bothroyd in attack, with the likely options either Jon Parkin or Craig Bellamy, who is available to play having been cleared of improper conduct by the FAW relating to last month`s clash against Reading.

Pushing the Wales international up front from his usual wide position would allow either Seyi Olofinjana, Chris Burke or Gavin Rae to come into midfield.

Goalkeepers Tom Heaton (groin) and deputy David Marshall (elbow) remain sidelined, meaning Stephen Bywater will again get the nod ahead of fellow loanee Jason Brown unless Jones opts to changes things around with the Bluebirds winless in three.

Copyright (c) PA Sport 2009, All Rights Reserved.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Chris Burke
Jon Parkin
Neil Harris
Darren Ward
Craig Bellamy
Darren Ward
David Marshall
Steve Morison
Michael Chopra
Tom Heaton
Darren Purse
Jason Brown
Gavin Rae
Stephen Bywater
Kevin Lisbie
Tom Heaton
Kevin Lisbie
Seyi Olofinjana
Jay Bothroyd

Read more

back to top