QPR captain Adel Taarabt was named as npower Championship Player of the Year at Sunday night's Football League awards.

The Moroccan has been in outstanding form for Neil Warnock's side this season and has weighed in with 15 goals and 15 assists as Rangers have powered to the top of the table.


He said: "I had a difficult time at Spurs and going to QPR was a risk for me but things have gone well and hopefully I will be back in the Premier League next season."

Taarabt beat Norwich skipper Grant Holt and Swansea forward Scott Sinclair to the title at the awards ceremony in central London.

Copyright (c) PA Sport 2009, All Rights Reserved.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE: http://gms.to/writeforgms