Murray on target for Seagulls

Next Story

Brighton took another step towards automatic promotion from npower League One thanks to Glenn Murray's 19th goal of the season.

Murray helped secure a 2-1 home win against struggling Swindon with a cool finish in the 64th minute.

Gary Dicker opened the scoring for the Seagulls from the penalty spot after Craig Noone had been up-ended, only for David Prutton to equalise for Swindon with a speculative 30-yard effort.

Bournemouth had to settle for a point from a 2-2 draw against Charlton and their promotion campaign continues to stall.

They managed to pull ahead through Marc Pugh and Danny Hollands after Scott Wagstaff opened the scoring for the Londoners. However, Bradley Wright-Phillips had the final word nine minutes from time with the equaliser.

Exeter crashed to a 5-1 defeat at Colchester after having Steve Tully and Scott Golbourne sent off.

The Grecians took the lead through Daniel Nardiello then imploded with Steven Gillespie (two), David Mooney (penalty), Ashley Vincent and Andy Bond all finding the target.

Midfielder Shaun MacDonald, on loan at Yeovil from Swansea, scored a hat-trick - his first goals of the season - for the Glovers in their 5-1 romp at Leyton Orient.

Matthew Spring was sent off for the Os and the visitors took full advantage with Andrew Welsh and Dean Bowditch the other scorers while Dean Cox got a consolation.

Danny Green secured a point for Dagenham and Redbridge with a penalty 10 minutes from time after a handball by Sheffield Wednesday's Darren Potter in a 1-1 draw. The Yorkshire club had taken the lead through Gary Teale in the 17th minute but they continue to struggle to win games, with no victories in their last four matches

Copyright (c) PA Sport 2009, All Rights Reserved.

Yeovil Town
Andrew Welsh
Colchester United
Ipswich Town
Dean Bowditch
Sheffield Wednesday
Daniel Nardiello
David Mooney
Gary Teale
League One
Gary Dicker
Scott Golbourne
Swindon Town
Marc Pugh
Danny Hollands
Dean Cox
Ashley Vincent
Steven Gillespie
David Prutton
Matthew Spring
Dean Bowditch
Steve Tully
Scott Wagstaff
Craig Noone
Darren Potter
Charlton Athletic
Leyton Orient
Swansea City
Brighton & Hove Albion
Glenn Murray
Shaun MacDonald
Bradley Wright-Phillips
Next Story

Read more