Morecambe top despite defeat

Published Add your comment

Morecambe remain top of npower League Two despite a 3-2 home defeat to Bristol Rovers.

Cian Bolger handed the visitors a 27th-minute lead, before Jason Price and Kevin Ellison turned the match on its head, but Rovers looked impressive and Scott McGleish put the Pirates level and Joe Anyinsah secured three points.

Shrewsbury are level on points in second after defeating Torquay 2-0 thanks to James Collins' brace. The Gulls saw Rene Howe sent off in stoppage time.

Southend lie in the final automatic promotion spot after a thumping 4-0 win at Rotherham. Peter Gilbert and Neil Harris complemented Michael Timlin's brace at the Don Valley Stadium.

Michael Doughty helped Crawley grab a 1-0 win at Aldershot, while Cheltenham and Hereford ended in a goalless draw.

Jack Midson and Christian Jolley netted in AFC Wimbledon's 2-1 win at Bradford, who had equalised through Michael Flynn.

Crewe and Port Vale finished 1-1 after Tom Pope levelled after Byron Moore scored, while Danny Kedwell's brace and a Frank Nouble goal helped Gillingham beat nine-man Burton Albion 3-1 at Priestfield. Billy Kee scored for the visitors, who had Aaron Webster and Ryan Austin sent off.

Arron Davies and Adebayo Akinfenwa netted in Northampton's 2-1 win against Dagenham and Redbridge, who pulled one back late on through Oliver Lee.

Paul McLaren gave Oxford a 1-0 lead against Accrington Stanley only for Peter Murphy to pull one back in the 62nd minute.

Warren Feeney and Robbie Williams helped Plymouth to a 2-0 win against Macclesfield, while Swindon thumped Barnet 4-0. Raffaele De Vita, Matt Ritchie and Mehdi Kerrouche gave the Robins a 3-0 half-time lead, before Ritchie grabbed his second of the game in the 65th minute.

Copyright (c) PA Sport 2009, All Rights Reserved.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Frank Nouble
Robbie Williams
Crewe Alexandra
Shrewsbury Town
Bristol Rovers
Matt Ritchie
Jack Midson
Peter Murphy
Neil Harris
Bristol City
Ryan Austin
Raffaele De Vita
Jason Price
Michael Timlin
Scott McGleish
Hereford United
Swindon Town
Port Vale
Southend United
Cheltenham Town
Bradford City
Warren Feeney
Arron Davies
Tom Pope
Joe Anyinsah
Peter Murphy
Aaron Webster
Rene Howe
Rene Howe
AFC Wimbledon
Burton Albion
League Two
Byron Moore
Aldershot Town
James Collins
Michael Flynn
Oliver Lee
Peter Gilbert
Torquay United
Accrington Stanley
Plymouth Argyle
Adebayo Akinfenwa
Kevin Ellison
Paul McLaren

Read more

back to top