Football

.

Carrick never considered penalty

Published Add your comment

Michael Carrick never considered passing up the chance of a rare goal at Old Trafford in the 1-0 Champions League win over Galatasary on Wednesday night.

The Manchester United midfielder's seeventh-minute effort proved decisive, yet in converting it, Carrick was not just scoring his first European goal for three years, he was also allowing Fernando Muslera to escape without sanction for a definite red card offence as the goalkeeper tripped the midfielder as Carrick stepped inside onto Shinji Kagawa's pass.

Had he not managed to score anyway, referee Wolfgang Stark would have had little alternative but to dismiss the Uruguayan in addition to awarding the hosts a penalty. But Carrick said: "I didn't go down because the way we are taking penalties we might not have scored!"

Copyright (c) PA Sport 2012, All Rights Reserved.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE: http://gms.to/writeforgms

Topics:
European News
Football
Premier League
Michael Carrick
UEFA Champions League
Manchester United

Article Comments

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author

DISCLAIMER

This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of GiveMeSport.com or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. GiveMeSport.com and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again