Arteta: Cazorla is no diver

Published 10 Comments

Arsenal midfielder Mikel Arteta has defended team-mate Santi Cazorla from accusations of diving following the winger's controversial role in Saturday's 2-0 defeat of West Brom.

Cazorla was at the centre of a storm when he went to ground after a challenge from Steven Reid, resulting in the award of a penalty by referee Mike Jones, which Arteta subsequently converted. West Brom boss Steve Clarke said there was "zero contact" on Cazorla, but Arteta refused to accept his fellow Spaniard tried to con the referee.

"Santi was saying that he felt something. If there is a little (contact), it is (still) contact. The ref makes decisions, some right and some wrong," Arteta told reporters.

Copyright (c) PA Sport 2012, All Rights Reserved.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

West Bromwich Albion
Mikel Arteta
Premier League
Steven Reid
Mike Jones

Article Comments

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again