Arsenal manager Arsene Wenger felt his side had been wrongly denied a penalty during the 2-2 draw with Swansea in their FA Cup third-round tie at the Liberty Stadium.
With the game goalless early in the second half, Aaron Ramsey raced on to Olivier Giroud's through ball with Swansea right-back Dwight Tiendalli in pursuit. The Welshman went to ground but referee Howard Webb waved away the Arsenal appeals.
"It was a penalty and the referee saw it," he said. "Do you know why he did not give it? Because he thought the guy had not done it on purpose, and I also think it was accidental. But he (Ramsey) did not trip himself, he was caught clearly by the leg of the Swansea player. The referee hesitated and he did not give it."
Copyright (c) PA Sport 2013, All Rights Reserved.
Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE: http://gms.to/writeforgms