Fenerbahce star beats Neymar & Falcao to Puskas Award

Published 1 Comments

Former-Chelsea youngster Miroslav Stoch beat competition from Radamel Falcao and Neymar to win the Puskas award for goal of the year last night.

The Fenerbahce winger scooped the top prize for his stunning 25-yard volley against Genclerbirligi in March. Stoch took the ball on the full, firing across his body as the ball dropped out of the sky from a corner to win the fourth annual Puskas Award.

The Slovakian international was chosen as the winner after, FIFA YouTube and fans voted in an online poll.

Stoch, along with Falcao and Neymar, made up the three-man shortlist, and the winner was announced at the FIFA Ballon d'Or Gala in Zurich on Monday 6 January.

Neymar, last year's winner, was one of the candidates once again, thanks to his solo run against Internacional in March, one of many spectacular goals by the Brazil international last year.

Atletico Madrid striker Falcao, widely regarded as the best number nine in world football, was recognised for his incredible bicycle kick against America de Cali in a friendly match in May.

But Stoch took home the award, following in the footsteps of Cristiano Ronaldo, who won the award in 2009, Hamit Altintop, winner in 2010, and Neymar, last year's recipient.

Watch Stoch's winning goal here, as well as the two runner-ups, Falcao and Neymar...

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

European News
Miroslav Stoch

Read more

back to top