Top Five Ballon d’Or Legends (6)

Published 24 Comments

The former Barcelona, Real Madrid and Inter Milan striker has actually won just as many Lionel Messi, having collected the Ballon d’Or twice, in 1997 and 2002, while he was voted FIFA World Player of the Year three times; in 1996, 1997 and 2002.

Lionel Messi, Argentina

The Barça man started his run in 2009 by winning both awards and he has been smashing records left right and centre to complete a period of dominance by an individual player that has possibly never been seen before. He is only 25 years old and does not look like letting up anytime soon, so lets not bet against him doing the same again for 2013.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

European News

Article Comments

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again