Gerrard claims award for second time

Next Story

Steven Gerrard has been voted the Football Association's England player of the year for the second time.

The Liverpool midfielder received the award from Sir Bobby Charlton at the FA England awards ceremony at St George's Park.Gerrard, who had previously lifted the award in 2007, finished ahead of Manchester United striker Danny Welbeck, with Chelsea defender Ashley Cole third.

Gerrard joins Chelsea midfielder Frank Lampard and Manchester United striker Wayne Rooney in lifting the award twice. The 32-year-old was one of England's best performers at Euro 2012 when he set up a series of goals with his deadly delivery from set pieces.

Copyright (c) PA Sport 2013, All Rights Reserved.

Ashley Cole
Premier League
Danny Welbeck
Manchester United
Wayne Rooney
Steven Gerrard
Bobby Charlton
Charlton Athletic
Next Story

Read more