The most prestigious award ceremony in England is scheduled to get underway in the coming weeks. Having swept the PFA Player of the Year in 2011/12, Robin van Persie is in contention again. Here we analyse who deserves to be considered. 

Robin van Persie

The £24 million price tag seemed a lot for a player in the last year of his contract with a dodgy injury record, but he has certainly proved his worth. 

Van Perise has managed 19 league goals in 29 appearances and 23 goals in all competitions, despite a barren period of two months where his scoring rate has dipped. 

Sir Alex Ferguson tipped him as the "final piece in his jigsaw", a statement that carries volume as Manchester United sit 15-points clear at the top of the Premier League. With him and Wayne Rooney, Manchester United seem an unstoppable force.

Luis Suarez

Another big-money signing who had shown traces of his genius since joining from Ajax in January 2011, but it has all come together for the Uruguayan this term. 22 goals in the league and tipped to win the Golden Boot, Luis Suarez has carried Liverpool on his shoulders all season. He has played as a centre forward, a winger and even behind the front-line and has never disappointed. However, his heroic efforts are to go in vain, as Liverpool are not in contention for any piece of silverware and a top four finish looks highly unlikely.

Juan Mata

The second season syndrome has casted no effect upon Juan Mata at all, he has proved to be one of the best midfielders in England. An astonishing tally of 18 goals and 28 assists in all competitions does a world of good to Chelsea’s prospects. 

A good end to the league season could help him press his claims for an award this season.

Gareth Bale

Bale started slowly but hit top form at the turn of the year. 21 goals in all competitions proves him statistically equal to some of the best players across Europe. 

Compared with Cristiano Ronaldo, he has improved all parts of his game as well as his physical stature. Andre Villas-Boas' priority this season has been a top four finish which has been helped immensely by Bale’s contribution. 

And the winner is…

Robin van Persie. The Dutchman has made the difference in the title race this year with his magnificent contribution, setting the red side of Manchester apart from the blue. 

He has scored crucial goals against Manchester City, Chelsea, Tottenham, Arsenal, Liverpool and Everton. The player is almost certain to win the Premier League and deserves to take home his second PFA Player of the Year award in as many seasons. 

DISCLAIMER: This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeFootball Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE: