Stoke City striker Michael Owen has revealed who he voted for in his PFA Team of the Year. 

The former England striker, who recently announced his plans to retire at the end of the season, also revealed who he has voted for to win PFA Player of the Year and PFA Young Player of the Year.

Owen took to social networking site Twitter to reveal who he had voted for to be in his Team of the Year and, as he is a Stoke City player, he was not allowed to vote for any team-mates.

The forward tweeted his chosen players and also gave reasons why he selected them.

Goalkeeper: Simon Mignolet

"I went for Mignolet in goal. It was a toss up between him and @D_DeGea [David De Gea]. @asmir1 [Asmir Begovic] could win it but you are not allowed to vote for team-mates," Owen posted.

Right-back and left-back: Pablo Zabaleta and Leighton Baines

"Zabaleta and Baines were my full-backs. Pretty happy with those picks!"

Centre-backs: Jan Vertonghen and Phil Jagielka

"Centre Halves were tough to call. Loads of possibles. Went for Vertonghen and Jagielka in the end. Happy to stand corrected. [Sylvain] Distin maybe?"

Midfielders: Michael Carrick, Juan Mata, Gareth Bale, Wayne Routledge

"Midfield was reasonably simple until it came to the right side. Carrick, Mata and Bale are in without hesitation," Owen added. "Routledge was my surprise pick on the right. Been very impressed every time I have seen him this season. Hazard was a possible too."

Strikers: Robin van Persie and Luis Suarez

"Suarez and Van Persie up top. Michu and [Christian] Benteke were possibles too but could only pick 2," he posted.

After announcing his Team of the Year, Owen then went on to reveal who he had voted for as Player of the Year and Young Players of the Year.

He tweeted the following: "Player of The Year was Bale. Closely followed by Suarez. Young Player of The Year was Benteke.

"Loads saying Van Persie should win it and a few saying Suarez. I just sided with Bale but it was a toss up between him and Suarez for me."

Owen's decisions came under a lot of scrutiny after publishing it on Twitter, but he backed up his choices by tweeting the following: "it's not necessarily the best players that get the vote. It's who has played consistently well for most of the season."

Micheal Owen's Team of the Year:

Simon Mignolet, Pablo Zabaleta, Jan Vertonghen, Phil Jagielka, Leighton Baines, Michael Carrick, Juan Mata, Gareth Bale, Wayne Routledge, Luis Suarez, Robin van Persie

Michael Owen's Player of the Year:

Gareth Bale.

Michael Owen's Young Player of the Year:

Christian Benteke


DISCLAIMER: This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeFootball Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE: