It has recently been announced who is on the PFA’s shortlist for the Player of the Year award.

Gareth Bale, Robin van Persie, Luis Suarez, Eden Hazard, Michael Carrick and Juan Mata are the six players nominated. 

In this article I will discuss why the players listed have been included on the list, and who should take the award this year.

Gareth Bale

Gareth Bale was guaranteed on this shortlist, as his play this year has been breathtaking. His goalscoring record this season has been incredible, with 22 goals in 38 games for the club. 

A statistic I found amazing is that Spurs have not won a game that Gareth Bale has not scored in in 2013. I believe Bale will win this award by a landslide due to his form this season, which has been nothing short of superhuman. 

Robin van Persie

Having signed for Manchester United before the start of the 2012/13 season, Van Persie acted as if nothing changed as he was belting goals in left and right. He has proved that he can be successful at another club, and his goal-scoring record proves that. 

His drought of 10 games without a goal does put a minor dent in his season, but he has been a prolific for United and if anyone can challenge Bale for the award, then it's Van Persie.

Luis Suarez

Liverpool’s number nine has had a brilliant season, scoring 29 times in all competitions for his club. Although the man is surrounded by controversy, he manages to still score goals on a regular basis. 

The signing of Daniel Sturridge has helped Suarez and Liverpool, who I believe will have a much better season next year.

Eden Hazard

Another new signing making the list, Eden Hazard came from Lille with high expectations, as he was on the wish list of many big Premier League clubs over the summer. 

He has been a great signing, he is a very nice finisher and provides many assists as well. Hazard is a good teammate to have on your side.

Juan Mata

Chelsea’s attacking midfielder has caused havoc around the league this season, scoring 10 league goals so far. He is a very quick player who is technically gifted. He also has 14 assists this season as well, which means he can score and set up goals. 

Michael Carrick

The inclusion of Michael Carrick may have caused a few double takes, but I believe he truly deserves to be on this list. Carrick has been influential to Manchester United this year, playing in 41 games so far and has been a consistent and crucial member of the squad. 

The newest chant among United supporters is “'it’s hard to believe it’s not Scholes, it’s Carrick, you know' due to his ability to change the game with his passing and tackling, just like United legend Scholes could, and still can do. United would not have won the title this year without Carrick.


DISCLAIMER: This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeFootball Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE: