Chelsea legends included on Golden Foot award shortlist

Next Story

Frank Lampard and Didier Drogba have been included amongst the nominees for the 2013 Golden Foot award.

Former England captain David Beckham is also on the 10-man list - chosen by a panel of journalists - along with Real Madrid's Cristiano Ronaldo and Barcelona star Andres Iniesta.

Real Madrid's Iker Casillas is the only goalkeeper to make the cut, while Andrea Pirlo, David Trezeguet, Samuel Eto'o and Miroslav Klose complete the list.

The Golden Foot award is handed to the best player in Europe over 29-years-old as voted for by the public, and can only be won once.

Previous winners include Zlatan Ibrahimovic - who scooped the prize last year - Ronaldinho and Brazilian legend Ronaldo. Each recipient of the award, which began in 2003, has a mould of their feet placed on the The Champions Promenade in Monaco.

Should Lampard emerge victorious, he would be the first Englishman to scoop the prize and only the second ever Premier League player following Ryan Giggs' win in 2011.

The Chelsea midfielder's nomination is a reward for his fine goalscoring form this season, which has seen him move to the verge of becoming the Blues' all-time leading goalscorer.

Golden Foot 2013 Nominees:

Didier Drogba

Frank Lampard

David Beckham

David Trezeguet

Miroslav Klose

Andrea Pirlo

Iker Casillas

Samuel Eto'o

Andres Iniesta

Cristiano Ronaldo


Didier Drogba
Premier League
Next Story

Read more