It's that time of year for the Premier League's best players. Time to change the football shirt for the shirt and tie, and head down the red carpet. It's award season.

So with Gareth Bale sweeping up the lot this season, let's see how the young Welshman compares to the previous holders.

PFA Young Player of the Year:

Kyle Walker 2011-2012;

Gareth Bale's team mate at Tottenham, Kyle Walker was the last player to pick up the accolade. Some have argued that his form this season hasn't matched that of his last campaign, but there is much to be said about a player breaking into the England International set up at the age of 22. 

Whilst also pushing the ever-present Glen Johnson for his position of right-back in the international set up.

Jack Wilshere 2010- 2011

Arsenal's Jack Wilshere picked up the award in 2011. A season that saw the youngster propel himself as England's future hope, and arguably Arsenal's greatest prospect. And all at the age of 19.

James Milner 2009-2010

In the wake of Milner's last season at Aston Villa, after seeing a bid of £28,000,000 from Manchester City accepted he cemented himself as a Premier League and England regular. Emerging as one of the hopeful talents of his generation, and able to play in many different positions including full-back, winger and central midfield.

PFA Players Player of the Year:

Robin van Persie 2011-2012

There was no surprise when his peers voted the Dutchman as the best player in the league. The 2011-2012 season saw him score 30 goals for the Gunners, and claim the Golden Boot. Such a successful campaign inevitably got people talking, and eventually at the end of the season he left north London for Manchester. Joining up with Sir Alex Ferguson at United.

Wayne Rooney 2009-2010

Before Bale claimed the award for the first time in 2010-2011, Wayne Rooney staked his claim for the gauntlet. A season that saw him score his 100th Premier League goal and 100th Manchester United goal. Whilst reaching an overall season tally of 26 goals in the Premier League.

Football Writer's Player of the Year:

Robin van Persie 2011-2012

After Robin van Persie picked up his Player's Player of the Year award he was always favourite to claim this one. An undisputed choice for the Football Writer's Player of the Year saw him join great company of 'doubles' winners from the past, a list including;

Thierry Henry, Dennis Bergkamp, David Ginola, Roy Keane and Cristiano Ronaldo.

Scott Parker 2010-2011

Supplying Tottenham with solidarity in midfield throughout the campaign. Parker's 'old school' midfield play became a sought after credential within top flight teams. Becoming a regular in the England starting XI and staking his claim for captaincy at Spurs. Scott Parker became an icon for English grit and determination in the heart of midfield.

So there you have it. The winner's from the past few seasons making up some of the world's greatest talents of recent years, and Bale seems to be no exception.

So is Gareth Bale deserving of such accolades?

And will the Welshman's latest surge of Premier League dominance see his career move to pasteurs new next season?

Write for GiveMeSport! Sign-up to the GMS Writing Academy here:

DISCLAIMER: This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeFootball Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE: