Football

'Hand of God' attempt leads to red card

Published 12 Comments

Football News
24/7

Diego Maradona's famous 'Hand of God' attempt was reenacted by Santos Laguna forward Carlos Quintero on Sunday.

But rather than celebrating a vital goal in key fixture like the Argentinian magician all those years ago, Quintero was left red-faced after the referee spotted the act and promptly sent him off for a second yellow card.

2-1 down in the match, and 5-1 down over the tie, Laguna were frantically searching for a way back into the fixture against Cruz Azul in the Mexican League semi-final second leg.

But this was not the way to do it. Quintero clearly handballs the ball into the back of the net. He appears to signal a guilty plea after hearing the referee's whistle.

But his appeal for clemency goes unheeded, and the referee gives him his marching orders.

Check out the footage in the video below - with special thanks again to 101greatgoals.com for putting it up first...

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE: http://gms.to/writeforgms

Topics:
Internationals
Football

Article Comments

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author

DISCLAIMER

This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of GiveMeSport.com or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. GiveMeSport.com and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again