Champions League place set to go to Europa League winners

Next Story

UEFA are set to announce that the winners of the Europa League will be awarded a Champions League place from 2015 onwards.

The introduction of the rule will provide a much-needed boost to the maligned Europa League, which has been criticised for its heavy schedule, poor cash incentives and fatigue-inducing travel.

It certainly offers a financial incentive for clubs who qualify for the Europa League due to the vast amounts of money earned by qualifying for the Champions League and also the participation at later rounds.

Though with the vast amount of teams that qualify for the Europa League group stages, 48 at present, it still seems far-fetched that the clubs will consider the competition more seriously.

"We must do something to improve the Europa League and one way is to have a sporting incentive for the Europa League to qualify for the Champions League," the UEFA general secretary Gianni Infantino confirmed. "It will be decided at the Congress on Friday. The new cycle will begin in 2015."

It has also been confirmed that an English winner of the Champions League or Europa League would not ‘preclude the team placed fourth in the competition’ from qualifying for the Champions League.


Write for GiveMeSport! Sign-up to the GMS Writing Academy here:

DISCLAIMER: This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

UEFA Champions League
Europa League
Next Story

Read more