Manchester United star Robin van Persie and Tottenham ace Gareth Bale have shared the Football Supporters’ Federation award for the best player on the Premier League during the 2012-13 season.

Bale had previously claimed both the PFA and FWA equivilants of the award, but the supporters were unable to separate the Wales international and Van Persie, following the latter's fine first term at Old Trafford.

Van Persie claimed the Premier League's golden boot for the second successive campaign as the Dutchman scored 26 times on the way to his first title and a record 20th crown for Manchester United.

Bale, meanwhile, found the net on 21 occasions in 33 league outings - with only Van Persie and Luis Suarez of Liverpool scoring more goals than the Tottenham winger.

Over 200,000 fans voted over nine months to decide their Premier League team of the season, with Bale and Van Persie claiming indentical scores to ensure the spoils were shared.

Van Persie was one of three Manchester United players to make it into the final XI, with David de Gea and Nemanja Vidic also named in the team following their triumphant campaign.

Team of the season: David de Gea; Pablo Zabaleta, Nemanja Vidic, Ryan Shawcross, Leighton Baines; Juan Mata, Marouane Fellaini, Yaya Toure, Gareth Bale; Luis Suarez, Robin van Persie.

#Tottenham Hotspur
#Premier League
#Manchester United
#Gareth Bale
#Robin Van Persie
Flag article