Southampton release eight players

Published Add your comment

Southampton have announced that they are releasing eight players from the club including Frazer Richardson and Danny Butterfield.

The others to be released are defenders Dan Seabourne and Ryan Dickson, strikers Ben Reeves and Sam Hoskins, goalkeeper Tommy Forecast and midfielder Alberto Seidi.

Richardson made five Premier League appearances for the Saints last season, helping them to a 14th placed finish in their first season back in the top flight.

Richardson and Butterfield both leave the club after joining them in 2010, when the south coast side were languishing in League One.

The Saints earned back to back promotions from League One to the Premier League last season to get them back in the top flight following a seven year absence.

Ben Reeves also made Premier League appearances this season as he came off the bench to feature three times, while Dan Seaborne spent the season on loan at Charlton Athletic and Bournemouth.


Write for GiveMeSport! Sign-up to the GMS Writing Academy here:

DISCLAIMER: This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Danny Butterfield
Premier League
Frazer Richardson

Read more

back to top