The San Antonio Spurs and Miami Heat will line up tonight for the first match of the NBA finals. The best of seven series will determine who takes home the Larry O' Brien Championship Trophy.

This will be the Spurs' fifth appearance in the NBA Finals. They will be attempting to continue their perfect record in the finals with a fifth championship win. Victory will also mark their fifth success in just 14 years.

San Antonio finished the regular season with 58 wins, finishing in first place in the Southwest Division and second overall in the Western Conference. They have suffered just two playoff defeats since then: sweeping aside the Los Angeles Lakers in the first round and eliminating the Golden State Warriors in six games in the second round, before thrashing the Memphis Grizzlies in the Western Conference Finals.

Miami will be making their fourth appearance in the NBA Finals and their third appearance in as many years. They will be attempting to win their second consecutive championship and their third in total.

The Heat finished with the best regular season record of anyone in their NBA, compiling a league leading 66 wins from 82 games and first place in the Southeast Division. The Milwaukee Bucks were comfortably beaten in the first round of the playoffs before five games were needed to dispose of the Chicago Bulls in round two. A full seven matches were needed for the Heat to eliminate the Indiana Pacers in the Conference Finals, but a 99-76 win in the deciding match was enough to put them through.

Players to look out for include the two 'points per game leaders' - Tony Parker of the Spurs, who averages 24.5 and, of course, the Heat's LeBron James, one of the biggest name's in basketball, who averages 28.0 - as well as the likes of Tim Duncan (Spurs), Chris Bosh and Dwayne Wade (both Heat). 

The two sides have already met twice this season with the Heat winning on both occasions by scores of 105-100 and 88-86.


Write for GiveMeSport! Sign-up to the GMS Writing Academy here:

DISCLAIMER: This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE: