West Indies wicketkeeper Denesh Ramdin has been banned for attempting to hoodwink the umpires by appealing for a catch that he dropped against Pakistan in the Champions Trophy at the Oval on Friday.

Ramdin has been suspended for two ODIs and fined 100% of his match for the incident for breaching the ICC’s Code of Conduct.

ICC Match Referee and former England international Chris Broad deemed the offence “serious” and against the spirit of the game. Ramdin had pleaded not guilty to the charge that came under article 2.2.11 of the ICC Code of Conduct, relating to ‘conduct that is contrary to the spirit of the game’. Ramdin has the right to appeal within 24 hours but is guaranteed to miss West Indies second match, against India at the Oval, on Tuesday. 

Ramdin’s suspension could cause trouble for the West Indies, as he is the only specialist wicketkeeper in their squad for the Champions Trophy. Opening batsman Johnson Charles is expected to take over the gloves in Ramdin’s absence.

The incident itself saw Ramdin attempt to dismiss Misbah-ul-Haq off the bowling of Kemar Roach after the Pakistan captain had got a bottom edge that Ramdin appeared to hold. However, the gloveman lost the ball as he fell forward. Rather than notify anyone of the drop, Ramdin joined in with his team-mates’ celebrations. Nigel Llong, the Umpire at square leg, sent the decision upstairs and replays revealed what had actually happened.

The incident happened in the ninth over of the match, with Misbah on a duck. The Pakistan captain went on to record an ODI best of 96 not out. After the game, Misbah criticised Ramdin saying that his actions were not in the spirit of the game.

Misbah’s West Indian counterpart Dwayne Bravo defended Ramdin after the game, saying “He’s a very honest player” and arguing that his team had no history when it came to attempting to mislead the officials.

Ramdin, however, is known as a controversial character in England after being fined 20% of his match fee for holding a sign aloft upon reaching a century in a Test match at Edgbaston last year. When he reached his ton on the fourth day, he flashed a note at the Pavilion, reading “yea Viv talk nah”. This was in reference to West Indies legend Viv Richards, who had criticised Ramdin’s performances in the first two Tests of the Series.

Unless his suspension is overturned on appeal, Ramdin will miss the rest of the group stages (against India and South Africa), but would be available to return should the West Indies advance to the semi-finals.

 

Write for GiveMeSport! Sign-up to the GMS Writing Academy here: http://bit.ly/12evFlH

DISCLAIMER: This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of GiveMeSport.com or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. GiveMeSport.com and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Topics:
West Indies cricket
Cricket