The Alamo Bowl has announced a new six-year contract with the Pac-12 that will see it get first choice from the Big 12 conference, according to the NCAA.

The Cotton Bowl had previously been the marquee tie for the Big 12 teams not eligible for the Bowl Championship Series but the Alamo Bowl now becomes the most prestigious.

Outside the College Football Playoff - the four-team end of season tournament that will replace the Bowl Championship Series in 2014 - the Alamo Bowl will be the biggest game for Big 12 conference teams.

It will pit the top sides not involved in the championship game from the Pac-12 and the Big 12.

Since it first started in 1993, the Alamo Bowl has hosted some of the most exciting post-season games in recent college football history.

Robert Griffin III - now of the Washington Redskins - led Baylor University to victory in a 67-56 thriller against Washington two seasons ago.

Last year Texas overcame Oregon State 31-27, while Texas Tech won a shootout against Michigan State 41-31 in 2010. 

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE: