Bayern Munich have had five players named in the latest team of the season by European Sports Media (ESM).

Philipp Lahm, Bastian Schweinsteiger, Manuel Neuer, Thomas Müller and Dante were all named in the team after Bayern won this year’s Champions League by beating Borussia Dortmund 2-1 in the final at Wembley.

Neuer was also in the ESM team last year but he is the only player from the German treble winners to be named in both season’s team.

Joining the quintet of Munich player’s are Barcelona’s Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo from Real Madrid and PSG’s Zlatan Ibrahimovic.

Tottenham's Gareth Bale also makes the team along with Juventus defender Giorgio Chiellini. Ilkay Gündogan from the Champions League runners-up also makes the team.

Perhaps unsurprisingly, Messi and Ronaldo were also in the squad in previous years, with the Argentinian superstar being named every year since 2008, as well as appearing in the 2005/06 team. Ronaldo has been an ever-present for the past three campaigns.


Write for GiveMeSport! Sign-up to the GMS Writing Academy here:

DISCLAIMER: This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE: