On Monday the BCCI announced the list of players selected for the West Indies tour. 

It will start immediately after the ICC Champions Trophy and the squad playing in the UK has been retained. The Tri-Series also features Sri Lanka and will be held from June 28 and July 11.

BCCI selectors had already shortlisted a 21 member list back in May for the same series. The other six members who have now been dropped from the side are Manoj Tiwary, Praveen Kumar, Mohammed Shami Ahmed, Ambati Rayudu, Rahul Sharma and Gautam Gambhir. 

After the side's impressive performance in the on-going ICC Champions Trophy, the selectors have decided to go with the current squad.

This intent from the selectors is an indication of things to come and also means that there is no place for Gambhir, Yuvraj, Sehwag and Zaheer.

Sehwag's last ODI was against Pakistan earlier this year, but was dropped because of a dip in form. 

Yuvraj played the series against England that came after facing Pakistan and was dropped for similar reasons. Zaheer Khan has been out with injury and has not played a game since August last year.

Gambhir has also been dropped as the selectors do not want to tamper with the starting pair of Shikhar Dhawan and Rohit Sharma who have produced some great openers for the team in the Champions Trophy group stage games.


Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Captain) Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Dinesh Karthik, Murali Vijay, Rohit Sharma, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Irfan Pathan, Umesh Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ishant Sharma, Amit Mishra, Vinay Kumar

Write for GiveMeSport! Sign-up to the GMS Writing Academy here: http://bit.ly/12evFlH

DISCLAIMER: This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of GiveMeSport.com or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. GiveMeSport.com and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE: http://gms.to/writeforgms