Juventus legend Alessandro Del Piero is expected to lead the A-League All Stars against Manchester United in July.

Del Piero, who now plays for Sydney FC in Australia, was selected in the squad which was mostly selected by a fans vote.

The original squad of 35 was shortened to 15 after over 30,000 supporters voted and an expert panel, including the All Star's coach Ange Postecoglou, had its say.

The squad is subject to change and will eventually contain 18 players. Some players are expected to be unavailable due to other commitments.

Japan midfielder Shinji Ono, German Thomas Broich and veteran Australian striker Archie Thompson are in the squad.

A-League All-Stars: Ante Covic, Mathew Ryan, Pedj Bojic, Nikolai Topor-Stanley, Trent Sainsbury, Patrick Zwaanswijk, Adama Traore, Shinji Ono, Thomas Broich, Mark Milligan, Youssouf Hersi, Michael McGlinchey, Archie Thompson, Alessandro Del Piero, Marco Rojas.

A-League All Stars take on Manchester United at the ANZ Stadium on Saturday 19 July.

The match is part of Manchester United's tour 2013 which will see David Moyes take his new team to Hong Kong and Sydney and United will also play Sevilla in Rio Ferdinand's testimonial at Old Trafford.

A trip to Wembley is also part of United's pre-season as they face FA Cup winners Wigan in the Community Shield.


Write for GiveMeSport! Sign-up to the GMS Writing Academy here: http://bit.ly/12evFlH

DISCLAIMER: This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of GiveMeSport.com or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. GiveMeSport.com and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE: http://gms.to/writeforgms