Anderson left frustrated after Trott's dismissal

Published Add your comment

The Decision Review System (DRS) has been under the microscope in the Ashes series and has led to some criticism from the England camp after a controversial decision against England batsman Jonathon Trott. 

Trott strode to the pitch with his team at 1-11 after the dismissal of Joe Root and was hit on the pad by a Mitchell Starc in-swinger first ball and was given not out by the umpire Aleem Dar.

Michael Clarke and the Australian's were supremely confident that the decision was incorrect and immediately sent the decision upstairs to be viewed by third umpire Marais Erasmus.

Trott was adamant that he hit the ball, but after countless views by Erasmus, the South African decided that there was no edge on the ball and overturned the on-field decision, sending Trott on his way.

James Anderson was one of the first to criticise the decision after the completion of play on the second day.

Anderson told FoxSports: "Trotty hit his and was given not out on the field. Whatever happened after that I'm not sure.

"It is frustrating that it got overruled or overturned. I'm not sure what went on."

What really annoyed England was the decision to give young Australian Ashton Agar not out stumped when he was on six. The young Aussie went on to compile a superb 98 on debut in an innings that has changed the complexion of the game.

"I thought it was out, yeah, but I saw it on the big screen. It was hard to tell. He (Prior) was pretty confident it was out." 

This is not the first time in the series that the DRS has come under scrutiny. Australian batsman Chris Rogers was unlucky to be given out LBW on the first day of the Test.

James Anderson was bowling right arm around the wicket and struck Rogers on the pad and was given out. The hawk-eye replay showed the ball was barely clipping the leg stump.

Under the rules of the DRS, the decision went with the on-field umpire who had given it out. This irked the Australian camp after earlier in the day, Mitchell Starc, bowling left arm over the wicket to Anderson had a decision given not out.

The DRS replay showed that the ball was hitting far more of the stumps than the decision against Rogers, but due to the on-field decision being not out, the decision was upheld.

Overall, Anderson is happy with the use of the DRS system, despite the obvious flaws with the system at times.

"We're all for technology because since it came in more decisions are given out correctly than wrongly.

"From our point of view, whatever has gone on today with a couple of talking points, on the whole we are happy with it."

Only time will tell if both parties will still be happy with the DRS system at the end of the series.


Write for GiveMeSport! Sign-up to the GMS Writing Academy here:

DISCLAIMER: This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Australia cricket
James Anderson
England cricket

Read more

back to top