British rider Chris Froome has become the second British rider to win the Tour De France title on the 100th edition of the competition, just a year after Bradley Wiggins' success last year. 

Froome rode unchallenged to victory as tradition in the sport, with he and the other Team Sky members riding across the finish line together.

From the start of the race it was expected that Froome would take the title, with a five minute lead ahead of the rest of the pack. 

The general classification standings were ultimately sorted out before the race began barring a major disaster for the Kenyan-born Brit.

After a last gasp sprint to the finish, Mark Cavendish’s winning streak on the Champs-Ėlysėes came to an end, after he and other competitor Andrė Greipal were beaten by just half a bike-length by Argentinian rider Marcel Kittel. 

Cavendish managed to win two stages in this year’s competition, one less than he had previously won in last year's Tour.

But it was Froome’s day to remember as he and the rest of Team Sky rode in together showing their unity as a team. The new Tour de France winner was then bombarded by media and news crews wanting pictures of the new champion. 

Froome had won the Tour de France title by just four minutes and twenty seconds because of the fact he and the others from Team Sky hung back so they could ride in together.

A grand finale was celebrated afterwards, with light projection on the Arc de Triomphe and a speech from Froome afterwards.

He said on the podium: "I'd like to thank my team-mates, who have buried themselves day in day out throughout this Tour to keep this yellow jersey on my shoulders, and the Team Sky management for believing in my ability and building this team around me.

"This is one yellow jersey that will stand the test of time," he added, in a reference to doubters over doping suspicions.

Write for GiveMeSport! Sign-up to the GMS Writing Academy here:

DISCLAIMER: This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE: