Barcelona & Real Madrid: The only title contenders?

Published Add your comment

Atletico Madrid manager Diego Simeone branded La Liga as "boring" for the influence Barcelona & Real Madrid have in title race.

Simeone dismissed any chance for Atletico Madrid to become La Liga champion this season. "No, absolutely no. Madrid and Barcelona play in a different league. This is a boring championship for the rest of the supporters who can only aspire to be third or fourth," Simeone replied to the reporters, as quoted by Sky Sports. He also told that the league is only of the two either Real Madrid or Barcelona.

There are arguments whether La Liga is only two horse race or not but statistics make it clear to get a concrete idea.

The last team to win La Liga other than Real or Barca was Valencia in the 2003-04 season. That means, in the last decade, only once have the top two not won the league title.

In the previous 30 La Liga seasons; Athletic Bilbao won once in 1983-84, Atletico Madrid won once in 1995-96 season, Deportivo La Coruna won once in 1999-00 season and Valencia won twice in 2001-02 and 2003-04 season.

That means only five times of the last thirty years of La Liga presented four clubs to lift the trophy which is not Barcelona or Real Madrid. Within this time period only 6 clubs were able to secure runner-up place in 12 occasions,

The point difference between 2nd place and 3rd place clubs at the end of last 10 seasons are 9, 30, 21, 25, 8, 10, 5, 1, 15, 1 respectively from last season. Which actually indicates the difference of capabilities between Real-Barca and other teams which are increasing every year. And that is why Simeone is hopeless of being Spanish champion in the near future.

Madrid and Barca are continuously strengthening their squad. The Catalans signed Neymar this season and various rumours indicate their intention of more signings like David Luiz of Chelsea and Daniel Aggar of Liverpool.

Similarly Real signed Asier Illarramendi, Isco and are also rumoured to land Gareth Bale for a staggering £93m. In contrast star players of other teams are leaving La Liga for the lack of realistic hope of becoming league champion.

Top goal scorer in the previous season was Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo lies second with 46 and 34 goals respectively. 3rd (Ramadel Falcao with 28 goals to Monaco) , 4th (Alvaro Negredo with 25 goals to Manchester City) & 5th (Roberto Soldado with 24 goals to Tottenham) have already left La Liga for more success.

So, in reality La Liga more or less is all about Real-Barca, Messi-Ronaldo. Considering the factors it is quite easy to say the Liga title is going to either 32-time champion (& 21-time runner-up) Real Madrid or 22-time champion (& 23-time runner-up) Barcelona in this 2013-14 season.

Write for GiveMeSport! Sign-up to the GMS Writing Academy here:

DISCLAIMER: This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

La Liga
Real Madrid
Cristiano Ronaldo
Lionel Messi

Read more

back to top