Five legends who might never win the Ballon d'Or (1)

Published 11 Comments

In recent years the illustrious award of FIFA World Player of the Year – or as it is now known, Fifa Ballon d’Or – has had one destination, and that destination has been into the hands of Lionel Messi.

The Barcelona and Argentina maestro has picked up the award the last four years heading the votes over Cristiano Ronaldo (winner in 2008), Andres Iniesta and Xavi.

In January the four-time winner may see himself pipped to his fifth award in a row with the competition from Cristiano Ronaldo and Franck Ribery, who won the European Player of the Year last month.

While it’s a great award to receive, it is also an award that doesn’t define your career.

And here is a look at five players that haven’t won it, and are at stage in their careers that they might not ever win it:

Write for GiveMeSport! Sign-up to the GMS Writing Academy here:

DISCLAIMER: This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Lionel Messi
Thierry Henry
Steven Gerrard

Read more

back to top