Debutants made up half of the 2013 AA team, as twelve new faces joined fifteen former All-Australians.

Geelong Cats star, Joel Selwood, has been awarded with All-Australian captaincy, ahead of the likes of Scott Pendlebury and Gary Ablett (AA vice-captain).

For those unaware of how the All-Australian team works, it is essentially an AFL all-star side chosen by a select panel of people at the end of the home-and-away season. The All-Australian coach is selected upon the conclusion of the finals, with the award going to the coach of the eventual premiers.

Bulldog ruckman Will Minson is a worthy debutant, with a Round 10 matchup against Port Adelaide that saw him collect the sixth most amount of single-game hitouts in AFL history (57), with a season hitout average of 39.09, second highest of all-time.

Fellow Bulldog, Ryan Griffen, also makes his All-Australian debut, hitting a rich vein of mid-season form that saw him top 29 disposals a staggering seven weeks on the trot. 37 and 41 disposal games later in the season saw him firmly cement his spot in the side.

Other first timers include Coleman Medalist Jarryd Roughead, Port Adelaide captain Travis Boak and Sydney threesome Jarrad McVeigh, Kieran Jack and Dan Hannebery.

The 2013 All-Australian Side: 

FB: Corey Enright (Geelong), Scott Thompson (North Melbourne), Michael Johnson (Fremantle) 

HB: Jarrad McVeigh (Sydney), Harry Taylor (Geelong Cats), Sam Mitchell (Hawthorn)

C: Ryan Griffen (Western Bulldogs), Joel Selwood (C) (Geelong), Scott Pendlebury (Collingwood) 

HF: Patrick Dangerfield (Adelaide Crows), Travis Cloke (Collingwood), Kieren Jack (Sydney Swans)

FF: Jarryd Roughead (Hawthorn), Jeremy Cameron (GWS Giants), Chad Wingard (Port Adelaide)

R: Will Minson (Western Bulldogs), Dane Swan (Collingwood), Gary Ablett (VC) (Gold Coast Suns) 

I/C BENCH: Travis Boak (Port Adelaide), Dan Hannebery (Sydney), Andrew Mackie (Geelong), Jobe Watson (Essendon)

Write for GiveMeSport! Sign-up to the GMS Writing Academy here:

DISCLAIMER: This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE: