UK and Ireland keen to host Euro 2020 games

Published Add your comment

With Euro 202 set to be shared among 13 different countries, England, Scotland, Wales and the Republic of Ireland have registered their interest.

Uefa confirmed In January that the tournament would take place across the continent as opposed to the traditional format whereby one country provides a range of stadiums.

As recently as 2012 the European Championships were co-hosted by two nations, namely Ukraine and Poland, but this will be the first time it's spread across a range of nations. 

Today Uefa have announced the 32 members who have shown an interest, and their potential host city. Predictably England have chosen London, Scotland have plumped for Glasgow, Wales picked Cardiff and the Republic of Ireland opted for Dublin.

While 32 into 13 doesn't quite fit, at least one of the home nations will surely be chosen as one of the host cities, while it's hard to see European powerhouses such as Germany and Spain missing out.

Over half of the Uefa members have registered their interest and that's excited Uefa President, Michel Platini. He's quoted on the BBC Sport website as saying:  "We are extremely proud to see the huge interest in the bidding process, with more than half of our member associations willing to host matches at Euro 2020.

"The finals will be a great celebration of football across the European continent, and the 60th anniversary edition will be truly special, by really coming to the doorstep of all football fans."

Both Spain and Ukraine have suggested two potential host cities and will have until 25th April 2014 to confirm their choice before Uefa announce the 13 successful bids on 25th September.

The 32 countries to have registered their interest, and their suggested city, can be seen below.

Armenia (Yerevan), Azerbaijan (Baku), Belarus (Minsk), Belgium (Brussels), Bulgaria (Sofia), Croatia (Zagreb), Czech Republic (Prague), Denmark (Copenhagen), England (London), Finland (Helsinki), France (Lyon), Macedonia (Skopje), Germany (Munich), Greece (Athens), Hungary (Budapest), Israel (Jerusalem), Italy (Rome and Milan), Kazakhstan (Astana), Netherlands (Amsterdam), Poland (Warsaw and Chorzow), Portugal (Lisbon and Porto), Republic of Ireland (Dublin), Romania (Bucharest), Russia (St Petersburg), Scotland (Glasgow), Serbia (Belgrade), Spain (Madrid, Barcelona, Bilbao and Valencia), Sweden (Solna), Switzerland (Basel), Turkey (Istanbul), Ukraine (Kyiv and Donetsk) and Wales (Cardiff).

Write for GiveMeSport! Sign-up to the GMS Writing Academy here:

DISCLAIMER: This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

England Football
Scotland Football

Read more

back to top